top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePetra Molina Ohlinger

Through Deserts and Sand: An Undocumented Graduation Story

Updated: Feb 29

The resilience and determination of Oscar Dionicio, a undocumented UNLV student, in reaching his dreams of becoming a mechanical engineer.


Josh Hawkins: UNLV photographer


Oscar Dionicio was four years old when his family decided to immigrate to the United States. His mother left first, with no guarantee that she would ever see her children again. Then, it was Dionicio's and his brother’s turn. They crossed the border from Tijuana to San Diego next to two strangers and a broken down van.


“I was told to pretend like I was asleep. If they had any questions, I was too asleep to even answer them,” shared Dionicio.


The entire trip took about seven days.


“I remember the tears my mom had when I arrived in San Diego.”


As a child, Dionicio did not understand why his mother cried when they were reunited. For him, the trip felt like a game: they hid, they escaped and they acted. But as he grew older, he began to understand his status as an undocumented immigrant, what it implied and the risks that he took to get to the United States.


“I have heard the stories of other children who crossed the desert, and all I can think about is how fortunate I was to be driven there, that I didn’t walk. All I can think about is how fortunate I was to not be trafficked,”said Dionicio.


Since Dionicio and his family arrived in the United States, they have had to face multiple challenges. According to a study by Kamasaki (2021) which examined immigration policy through a systematic racism lens, although about 57% of immigrants are Hispanic, well over 90% of those deported are Latino. Consistently, immigrant Latinos have faced more persecution than any other immigrant race. Dionicio has faced the claws of racism many times.


“Immigrants are literally the backbone of the United states. But they are seen more of an economic impact than humanitarian. We are seen as cheap labor that can just be pushed around because of our status. We aren’t really seen as human beings.”


Despite his experience with discrimination, Dionicio has stayed true to his dreams.


“Since kindergarten, I always knew I wanted to go to college. I knew I was going to be either a president, an astronaut or a firefighter. I knew I was going to be someone important. But, I was scared that I wouldn’t be accepted into college, or be able to afford it. I’m a first generation student, I never had anyone I could ask for advice or who could help me understand how to make it to college.”


When Dionicio started applying to different higher education institutions, nearly every university accepted him, including UCLA. However, with no federal financial aid, many universities were not affordable. Luckily, institutional aid and scholarships allowed his student life to begin at Nevada State College. However, he took a step that changed the orientation of his academic life completely. He transferred to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas when he decided to pursue a degree in mechanical engineering. At UNLV, he was offered multiple scholarships that relieved the financial burden of his education almost completely.


“I will always appreciate everything UNLV has done for me to be able to reach this point in my life.”


Unfortunately there was still one static fear in Dionicio's life.


“Even if I graduated, even if I had a degree, who would hire me?”


Dionicio was introduced to the Undocumented Student Program (USP) at UNLV through an old counselor from Nevada State College. USP welcomed him with open arms and a staff willing to help him every step of the way in his student experience. They helped him navigate the resources he had as an undocumented student and assisted him in his DACA journey, which was approved a few years ago. Now, Dionicio can put his skills and abilities to full use with a United States work authorization in accordance with DACA.


“I will always be grateful to UNLV for helping get where I am. If it weren’t for UNLV and the programs they provide, for helping me to keep applying for DACA, I wouldn’t be where I am today.”


USP symbolized much more than just a program to him.


“I knew I wasn’t doing this alone anymore.”


After five years of undergraduate education, he graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering last May.


“I can say that I made it. That I am here today, and I am not leaving anywhere without reaching my dreams.”


101 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page